Purpose Statement for a New Year

From one wandering soul to another: all I want is peace. I’ve had my first taste of sanity since elementary school and I’m hooked. Now I understand what people mean when they say that they only want to be happy. But really, as cliche as it sounds, I want this to be a year of self-discovery and introspective thought not focused on tearing myself into microscopic pieces. I want to create a new life, in the best way possible.

Part of this is reading widely. You may or may not have noticed that there’s a new page in the sidebar, but if you haven’t: I’m going to read 52 books in 2017–hopefully books that will force me to have a new perspective on things. The list will be edited as time goes on (it already has), but there will definitely be at least 52 books. I’m a rather speedy reader, so if you want to join in, don’t feel that you need to read all 52+ books.

I want to finish another commonplace book, too, which will mostly involve thinking and reading and copying down any good words I can get my hands on. The year and a half I had my last one, I felt like I got rather fast and loose with the things I wrote down. If you haven’t kept a commonplace book before, I’d recommend checking out a few articles and starting your own. Just reading though my own, I could see how much I had matured philosophically and academically, and I hope to see the same in the new one.

I also want to dedicate more time to making friends and being a kind person. I spit words in the same way octopi spit ink–I’m small and soft and vulnerable, and it’s the only defense I have. Unfortunately, what they may lack in physical substance they make up for in toxicity, and as long as I’m living in an aquarium, I don’t want all my tankmates dead.

Of course, there are other, more concrete things I need to do: plan for college, apply to scholarships, get good grades, clean my room, actually update this blog more than twice a year, email my friends, live my life. Sometimes, though, you have to take care of the spiritual before you can get to the concrete. After all, walking into a party is hardly the end-all, be-all cure for someone with social anxiety.

As the year goes on, I hope to post more fiction, as well as some essays and reviews. I’m currently trying to figure out plot for a new novella that I would like to publish on this blog, as well my my NaNoWriMo and CampNaNo projects (one of which may be the novella). Basically, I’m trying to jump back into using my words, after spending a very long time without them.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

