Letters From Camp, Part I

I made the hard decision yesterday to pull my word count down from 50,000 words to 25,000. I don’t have the time or energy right now, which is unfortunate, but reality. The upside of this is twofold: I’m planning on releasing my project in part as a post series, and I actually have time to write some posts about the writing process and my camp experience.

The first thing I want to mention, since my cabin and I ended up talking about it a bit, is writing music. Everybody seems to have a different approach, and it’s always interesting to see how others decide to form their writing playlists. A lot of people seem to enjoy listening to soundtracks or classical music, but I’ve always found that I can focus a far more easily to music with words, since it tends to be rather repetitive. At some point I’m going to overanalyse that, but tonight isn’t the day for a Wikipedia binge.

My novella is rather dark, and I thought that the playlist would be much, much different from what it ended up being. I have a surprising number of rather upbeat sounding songs, mixed in rather unceremoniously with a lot of other things, and the entire thing is very disjointed–but it works surprisingly well, in my opinion. It has actually helped me a lot with sitting down and writing, as well as keeping my overall mood in mind. It also came together rather easily; normally playlists are either eight songs long or a complete mishmash of everything that I think might even remotely fit the theme, so it just ends up feeling forced. This one has an overarching feel that isn’t just one forced idea.

  1. “The Heroine” by Unwoman
  2. “Crusade” by Ariel, Zoey & Eli
  3. “Feel the Same” by Battle Tapes
  4. “Maintain the Madness” by The Jane Austen Argument
  5. “Table Song” by Katie Kuffel
  6. “Sinnerman” by Nina Simone
  7. “Inexplicable” by The Corespondents
  8. “Olde Time Mem’ry” by Mischief Brew
  9. “The Man With No Audience” by Weerd Science
  10. “Idfc” by Blacbear
  11. “Temporary Bliss” by The Cab
  12. “Lose It” by Oh Wonder
  13. “Two of a Crime” by Perma
  14. “Pierre” by Ryn Weaver
  15. “Too Far Gone” by Sir Sly
  16. “Laughter Lines” by Bastille
  17. “Ebb + Flow” by Kylaido
  18. “Dangerous Man” by Little Dume
  19. “The Wolves” by JJ & the Pillars
  20. “Words As Weapons” by Birdy
  21. “Trash Talking Love” by The Ready Set
  22. “Ophelia” by The Lumineers
  23. “Whatever Gets You By” by The Features
  24. “R.I.P. 2 My Youth” by The Neighbourhood
  25. “Grande Finale” by Studio Killers
  26. “Wires” by The Neighbourhood
  27. “Like a Staring Contest” by The Future Kings of Nowhere
  28. “Let’s Talk About Your Hair” by Have Mercy
  29. “9th Pawn” by OHO
  30. “All the King’s Men” by The Rigs
  31. “Hero” by Family of the Year
  32. “Born to Die” by Lana Del Rey
  33. “This Is What Makes Us Girls” by Lana Del Rey
  34. “Take Me To Church” by Hozier
  35. “Holland, 1945” by Neutral Milk Hotel
Leave a Reply

