August TBR List

A/N: What is this madness? Yeah…it’s actually a new schedule. One that maybe theoretically I will actually keep. So expect a new post every Wednesday.

So most of us have ’em. A to-be-read list, usually towering far above our tiny frames, looking down on us puny readers with what can only be an expression of bookish disdain. Well, I don’t like disdain, so I’m tackling mine. Please dig me out of the avalanche if you don’t hear from me next month.

 

The Call of Cthulu & Other Weird Stories  by H. P. Lovecraft

I’ve been meaning to read this book ever since I fell in love with both Jeff VanderMeer’s books and Welcome to Night Vale. I’ve actually started it, but I keep putting it down. Not because its too scary or I don’t like it, but because I am an awful, awful procrastinator. Shame on me.

 

Mostly Void, Partially Stars  by Fink & Cranor

A new Welcome to Night Vale book is coming out and feed me to the great and majestic Glow Cloud (ALL HAIL) if I’m going to miss it. By the way…if you’re looking for something weird and awesome to read in October, that’s a thing.

 

The Great Glowing Coils of the Universe  by Fink & Cranor

See above. Not missing that book. Also, I need to get caught up on the episodes. Stat.

 

Magnus Chase & The Gods of Asgard: The Hammer of Thor  by Rick Riordan

I’m a huge Riordan fanboy and I can’t believe that I put off reading the second book in the series (actually, it was because of AP Physics, but honestly my time would have been better spent reading that book than doing practice problems). Regardless of why I haven’t read it yet, I am super hyped, so hooray!

 

The Trials of Apollo: The Dark Prophecy  by Rick Riordan

Okay, a lot of people I know strongly disliked the first book in Trials of Apollo, but I really enjoyed it. I guess that’s what I get for living in the conservative south. Either way, I’m looking forward to reading his latest book.

 

Dragonwatch  by Brandon Mull

The theme for this list is apparently “books I’ve been meaning to read by my favorite childhood authors”. I’ve been waiting for Mull to write a new book set in the Fablehaven universe ever since I finished the last book in the series (approximately three years ago!) and my prayers have finally been answered.

 

Till We Have Faces  by C.S. Lewis

If you were thinking “Where the hell did this book come from?” you’d be right. This isn’t really a personal read, it’s for school. While I doubt I’ll be in love with it, I think (read: hope) it’ll be a decent read.

 

Winesburg, Ohio  by Sherwood Anderson

I actually need to finish this book. I’m about halfway through and need to fangirl with my English teacher about how awesome it is. The writing is awesome and I love the format (I’ve heard it described as both a short story cycle and as a novel).

 

The Complete Stories of Flannery O’Connor  by Flannery O’Connor

This is also kind of for school. My philosophy teacher last year raved about her stories, and especially as I’m trying my hand at a southern gothic short story soon, it’s time read her work.

Leave a Reply

